What is the difference between a “draft” dataset and a “published” dataset?

Last updated on March 04, 2026

Once a dataset is drafted, it is in what is referred to as a draft state, meaning it has not yet been published. While in this state datasets can be edited and deleted. However, once a dataset is published, it is not possible to edit or delete it. For example, when you draft a dataset but do not publish it, it appears in My Data under the tab Datasets and has a status of Draft in the Published Version column.

If you publish a dataset and need to modify it, you will do so by using a new version of it. Once you begin editing the dataset, for instance to change any of the metadata, or to add or remove files, you are actually editing the next version which is a replication of the original one.

For example, your published dataset appears in My Data and has a status of Version 1 in the Published Version column. If you click Edit draft, the dataset opens, allowing you to make changes. However, you will see in the right panel under the Published information section that the Status field shows Draft (Version 2), the Published version field shows Version 1, and the Visibility field is Private.

This new version is visible only to yourself and anyone you invite as a collaborator or with whom you share the link. This new version will also be in the draft state until it is ultimately published. If you start to edit the dataset again after it is again published, you will be editing the next iteration - Draft (Version 3), for example. All published versions of a dataset can be viewed and compared by clicking the links in the Version history.

Did we answer your question?

Related answers

Recently viewed answers

Functionality disabled due to your cookie preferences

For further assistance: